Canneseries: discover the winners of season 5 of the festival

The boisterous fifth season of the Canneseries festival closes its doors on April 6 with the preview of the series Le Flambeau: Raiders of Chupacabra and the announcement of the winners. The juries of the long and short series have given their verdict. Two nuggets especially stood out: the Israeli The Lesson and the German Souls.

As for long series, the jury chaired by Fanny Herrero (creator of Dix pour Cent and Funny), and made up of actress Anne Marivin (Bienvenue chez les Ch’tis), actors Denis O’Hare (Swallow), Olafur Darri Olafsson (Trapped), Sami Outabaldi (Sex Education) and songwriter Daniel Pemberton (Being the Ricardos) all fell in love with The Lesson. A tense social drama illustrating the deep political tensions in Israel, beginning with an argument between a student and her teacher. Your discussion will quickly go beyond the classroom setting to take on dramatic proportions.

As for the short series of Canneseries 2022, the jurors Anthony Horowitz (creator of Alex Rider), Chinenye Ezeudu (actress of Sex Education) and Marc Ruchman (actor seen in Plan Coeur) have set their eyes on the Belgian Hacked. A 10×14 minute generational series that speaks intelligently and realistically about cyberbullying in schools.

The acting award went to the young Maya Landsmann, formidable as a rebellious high school student in The Lesson.

The special acting award went to Audrey is Back, a Canadian series that deals with disability with subtlety and tender humor through the return to life of a young woman in a coma for several years after a mysterious accident. The series features a cast of endearing characters.

The student award for best short series went to Everything you love. This Norwegian 7×22 minute delicately deals with the story of Sara, a young woman in love with a boy who hides a secret from her: her radicalization in a far-right group.

Secondary school students chose to reward the long series Afterglow, another Norwegian series, which addresses the painful subject of cancer with the raw emotion of a This is us but also with humor, following the itinerary of ‘Ester is a wife and mother of three who have just been diagnosed with uterine cancer.

The Konbini Commitment Award, an award dedicated to talents or series that have distinguished themselves for their artistic quality and their revolutionary, social and innovative dimension, went to the hard-hitting series Skam France, whose tenth season is expected soon on Slash.

The Dior Award for Newcomer, which rewards an actor in the Short Series Competition, is awarded to Rosalie Vaillancourt in Complètement Lycée, a Canadian parody completely excluded from teen dramas.

The award for best music went to Dascha Dauenhauer for Souls, a German high-end concept where various temporalities collide.

For its plot between Lost and The OA, Souls also won Best Writing.

the complete list

Best Long Series Award: The Lesson

Best Short Series Award: Hacked

Performance Award: The Cast of Audrey Returns

Special Acting Award: Maya Landsmann in The Lesson

Best Music Award: Dascha Dauenhauer for Souls

Best Screenplay Award: Alex Eslam, Lisa Van Brakel, Senad Halilbasic, Erol Yesilkaya for Souls

Student Award for Best Short Series: Everything you love

High School Student Award for Best Long Series: Afterglow

Konbini Commitment Award: Skam France

Dior Grand Prix for Newcomer: Rosalie Vaillancourt at Completely High School

Variety Icon Award: Gilian Anderson Rising Star Award: Sydney Sweeney

Leave a Comment